papers/lighter/text

crumbled and rolled

in the sincerest way: thanks, Obama 11/16/2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — paperslightertext @ 10:24 pm

to look back over my old poems now takes on a new sense of sadness and longing. it’s a reminder of the relative peace and stability I’ve enjoyed over the past eight years. things weren’t perfect, but as I contemplate the future, I can’t help but feel overwhelmed by dread.

I want to revisit a poem I wrote in January 2009, shortly after Obama was inaugurated. it’s been on my mind lately, as the entirety of my adult life has taken on a whole new meaning in the cold, harsh light of the 2016 election results.

ECONOMIC STIMULUS PACKAGE

bugler stimulus package, drum rolled
spliff smoked, roach, black clove in the ash-pot,
inaugural hit off a resin ball the size of a shopping mall,

this is how these things progress.

moss on the canyon of enamel
choking out the wisps
in perfect noose smoke o’s
between phillies

ask me about
my economic recovery plan:

to buy a bag of now and laters every time i get paid
a box of condoms though i never get laid
and dream of the bonny day, the American dream,
when the burning ball
is rehashed

or at least the seven fingered stash
emancipated.

 

 

Leave a Reply

