papers/lighter/text

crumbled and rolled

a sonnet (ode to a dildo. or, love poems blow) 06/03/2009

Filed under: readable — paperslightertext @ 1:39 am
Tags:

you thank me for the bread i will not break,
it’s nestled in the glowing foreign coals
which all the winter rose and gently baked
condensing all my sordid teenage goals.

i wrote the things i didn’t dare to speak
in code, and stapled them about my bed.
i bit and screamed, i kicked. i used my teeth.
a constant frown affixed to my fat head.

but try not to think in terms of what one lacks.
is it not fortunate to live a life of rhyme?
toys fulfill that purpose. they allow one to relax,
they briefly take away the tyranny of time.

i dare you. ask me what i’m doing in my room
when the door is shut in early afternoon.

 

Leave a Reply

